• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

Timilsina, lone candidate for Upper House Chairman

KATHMANDU: Candidacy of only Ganesh Prasad Timilsina of CPN (UML) has been registered for the Chairman of the National Assembly.
Spokesperson of Federal Parliament Secretariat Dr Bharatraj Gautam said that Timilsina’s lone candidacy has been lodged in the given deadline for nomination.
CPN (UML)’s Khimlal Bhattarai has proposed Timilsina as the Chairman of the Upper House while Maoist Centre’s Dinanath Sharma and UML’s Suman Raj Pyakurel seconded Bhattarai’s proposal.
Timilsina is also the UML’s politburo member and joint coordinator of the party’s Province No. 4.
The meeting of the National Assembly is summoned at 13:00 pm on Wednesday.
As there is no other competitor, Timilsina has been elected unopposed. Dr Gautam said that the upcoming meeting of the National Assembly shall announce Timilsina’s election to the post of Chairman.
Timilsina is the common candidate of the left alliance as the National Assembly Chairman. Earlier, the CPN (Maoist Centre)’s Krishna Bahadur Mahara was elected the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
Timilsina is the permanent resident of Modi Rural Municipality of Parbat. Born in 2018 BS, Timilsina joined student politics from Pokhara’s Prithvi Narayan Campus in 2036 BS. He was also elected the secretary of Free Student’s Union of PN Campus Pokhara in 2041 BS. During Panchayat regime, Timilsina had served four years in jail.

Published Date: Tuesday, March 13th, 2018 | 12:36 AM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All

Having it All Ways: Scott Morrison’s Jerusalem “Compromise” Monday, December 17th, 2018

The pieces were already put in place during the Wentworth federal by-election, a hopeless, needless gambit that reduced the Coalition government’s majority whilst..