• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

Secretary Thapaliya recommended for chief election commissioner

KATHMANDU: The Constitutional Council has recommended Secretary of the Ministry of Federal Affairs and General Administration Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya for the post of chief election commissioner.
The Council’s meeting on Monday also proposed activist Bishnu Maya Ojhayo to be a member of the National Inclusive Commission.
The post of chief election commissioner has been lying vacant since former chief of the Election Commission Ayodhee Prasad Yadav retired on Sunday. Its member Ilama Sharma also retired on the same day.
The Election Commission has a team of five members including the chief. Narendra Dahal, Ishwori Prasad Paudyal and Sudhir Shah are the sitting members of the commission.

Published Date: Monday, March 25th, 2019 | 09:06 PM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All

Continued Detentions: The Intended Role for Chelsea Manning Wednesday, April 24th, 2019

The noose is tightening around the WikiLeaks world, yet another dedicated attempt to strangle the channels of information that might cast light over the dastardly deeds..

Why Is Malaria on the Rise Again? Wednesday, April 24th, 2019

Why Do Americans Pay More for Drugs? Wednesday, April 24th, 2019

The Arab Spring’s Second Chance Wednesday, April 24th, 2019