• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

Rajendra Aryal elected Press Chautari chairperson

BIRATNAGAR: Rajendra Aryal has been elected chairman of Press Chautari Nepal from its general convention held in Biratnagar.

Aryal, who is backed by senior leader of CPN-UML, K.P. Sharma Oli secured 332 votes, defeating Bishnu Rijal, who is backed by another senior leader of the party Madhav Kumar Nepal, who got 132 votes. Journalist close to party chairperson Jhala Nath Khanal did not file candidacy for the top post of party affiliated journalist body.

Similarly, Madhav Nepal has been elected general secretary while Bishwamani Subedi has been elected treasurer. All the fraternal organizations of CPN-UML are divided into three factions led by Party Chairperson Khanal and senior leaders Oli and Nepal.

In other bodies Oli and Nepal used to have coalition to defeat candidates close to Khanal. During recently held election of the Youth Association of Nepal, the youth of the party Mahesh Basnet backed by Nepal and Oil factions became victorious. There is sharp factionism in CPN-UML ever since Khanal elected for the top post of the party.

Published Date: Saturday, March 9th, 2013 | 11:53 PM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All

Himalayan nation Nepal gets first modern train tracks Friday, December 14th, 2018

By Binaj Gurubacharya, JANAKPUR, (AP): The competition between two Asian giants, India and China, for influence over tiny Nepal is yielding a bonanza in the form of the..