• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

President Bhandari confers National Pride Award

President Bidya Devi Bhandari speaking at the inaguration of the judges’ conference held in Kathmandu, on Wednesday, April 3, 2019. Photo: RSS

KATHMANDU: Bidya Devi Bhandari has conferred the ‘Tanka Prasad Acharya National Pride Award’ to Nepal’s Ambassador to India, Nilambar Acharya. The award set up in memory of former prime minister and one of the precursors of Nepal’s democratic movement, Tanka Prasad Acharya, has been conferred for the first time. The award carries the purse of Rs 200 thousand and a letter of appreciation.

Ambassador Acharya was honoured with the prize in recognition of his contribution to the restoration of parliamentary democracy in the country. Similarly, democracy fighter Snehalata Wan Shrestha was honoured with ‘Rewanta Kumari Acharya Human Rights Award’ carrying the purse of Rs 100 thousand and a letter of appreciation. Shrestha was honoured for her contribution to Nepal’s democratic movement since 2004 BS.

Both awards were given at a function organized on the 108th birth anniversary of Tanka Prasad Acharya.

On the occasion, President Bhandari said the late former Prime Minister Acharya was precursor of the struggle waged against autocratic Rana regime. He had significant role on establishment of Prajaparishad. He also maintained balanced foreign policy based on panchasheel during his premiership, she reminded.

Similarly, Deputy Prime Minister and Defense Minister Ishwor Pokhrel said the government was taking ahead the political change made after long in the country. He however said state structuring was still incomplete, so efforts were on for its completion. “Government has paid adequate attention for making of new laws and amending old ones to complete the state restructuring,” he said, reminding that the former prime minister Tank Prasad Acharya worked significantly to make Nepal the member of the UN, and bring in foreign aid.

Published Date: Tuesday, December 3rd, 2019 | 10:00 AM

Your Responses