• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

President announces national honor, some reject it

KATHMANDU: President Dr Ram Baran Yadav has conferred state honors to two hundred and seventy personalities on Tuesday for their contribution to public welfare.


However, the honors became disputed and only 219 accepted the honors at a special programme held at Sheetal Niwas on Tuesday.


Officiating chief Election Commissioner Nilkantha Upreti, comedian duo Madan Krishna Shrestha and Hari Bansha Acharya, Editor and Publisher of Himal Southasian Kanak Mani Dixit, and journalist Yuvaraj Ghimire are some of the names who refused to accept state honors.


As per the Decorations Act 2007, the titles and honours of Nepal Ratna went to late Ganesh Man Singh, who was the commander of Nepali Democratic Movement of 1990 AD.


Similarly the titles and honours of Rastra Gaurab has been endowed to Nepal’s first elected communist Prime Minister late Manmohan Adhikari and Nepal’s four-time Prime Minister late Girija Prasad Koirala.


Meanwhile, Girija’s daughter Sujata koirala has expressed an objection against government’s decision to grant Rastra Gaurab to his father.


According to Sujata, bestowing a second class honor has undermined her father’s contribution to the nation.

Published Date: Monday, May 21st, 2012 | 09:30 PM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All

In Defense of the Human Individual Wednesday, December 12th, 2018

While it is now very late in the life cycle of homo sapiens, with extinction now due to consign us to Earth’s fossil record – see ‘Will humans be extinct by..