• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

Parliament members sworn-in

KATHMANDU: Newly elected members of House of Representatives took the oath of office and secrecy today. 
At a programme organised at Baneshwor-based Federal Parliament Building at 4:00 pm today, senior-most member of the House of Representatives Mahantha Thakur administered the oath of office and secrecy to the HoR members. Earlier, President Bidya Devi Bhandari had administered the oath of office and secrecy to Thakur today itself.
There are 275 members in the House of Representatives including 165 members elected under first-past-the-post category and 110 under proportional representation category. The CPN-UML has 121 members, NC has 63, and CPN-MC has 53 while Federal Socialist Forum Nepal has 17 and Rastriya Janata Party has 16 members. Likewise, the Naya Shakti Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Rastriya Janamorcha and Nepal Majdoor Kissan Party has one member each and one member is an independent member.
President Bhandari, on the recommendation of the Government, has summoned the first meeting of federal parliament for March 5. The first joint meeting of both HoR and National assembly would take place at 4:00 pm on Monday.
Out of the HoR members, 38 members took oath of office and secrecy in their respective mother tongue including Bojpuri, Maithali, Awadhi, Tamang, Tharu, Magar and Hindi.

Published Date: Sunday, March 4th, 2018 | 06:59 PM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All

Feeding Militarism: The US Imperial Consensus Monday, September 24th, 2018

The US military industrial complex reigns like a ravenous ruler in search of new funding prospects. It has done well this year, with the Trump administration pushing the..