• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

NC rolls out 7-province federal model

KATHMANDU: A day after Maoist presented its 10 state model, Nepali Congress has come up with its own 7-state model on the basis of ethnicity, geography, culture and language.

NC leader Arjun Narshingh KC claimed that the proposal was prepared by considering the needs and aspirations of all Nepalese and called on all parties, including the Joint Democratic Madheshi Front, to support the proposal.

It has proposed to form 7-states and has not named them while outlining the boundaries of these states.  State 1 of the proposal includes Mechi, Koshi, Solukhumbu and Okhaldhunga and State 2 includes Seti and Mahakali.

Similarly, Saptari, Udayapur, Sindhuli, Makwanpur, and Parsa have been included in State 3. Likewise, the districts between Nawalparasi and Bardiya are in State 4 and State 5 incorporates Bagmati, Chitwan and the hilly regions of Janakpur.

State 6 includes the hilly regions of Gandaki, Dhaulagiri, and Lumbini and Rapti, Bheri, and Karnali fall under State 7. Furthermore the party has proposed to keep the present district boundaries intact.

Published Date: Friday, April 27th, 2012 | 03:21 AM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All

Constitutional special provisions, a boon for socially, culturally backward people Wednesday, September 19th, 2018

Bhisma Raj Ojha, KATHMANDU: The special provisions made by the Nepal's constitution for the protection, empowerment or uplift of the people of backward communities,..