• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

KP Oli becomes Prime Minister of Nepal for the second time

KATHMANDU: CPN (UML) chair KP Sharma Oli was sworn in as the 41st Prime Minister of Nepal. He took his oath of office and secretary before President Bidya Devi Bhandari amidst a ceremony at the Shital Niwas today.
Biography of Nepal’s 41st Prime Minister Oli
CPN (UML) chair KP Sharma has become the 41st Prime Minister of Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal with the support of the left alliance which had garnered a majority victory in the recent elections to the House of Representatives and State Assemblies held in two phases on November 26 and December 7 last year. The newly appointed Prime Minister has a long history of political career and has experiences of a prison life for years.
This is the second time that he has been appointed to the post of prime minister of Nepal. Prior to this, he was the PM from October 11, 2015 to August 4, 2016. He had to step down from the prime ministerial post after the CPN (Maoist Centre) withdrew its support to his government. Now, he reaches to the post following the support from the same party Maoist Center.

Oli born to Madhu Oli and Mohan Prasad Oli at Iwa-2 in Tehrathun of eastern Nepal, on 23 February 1952, just a year after the establishment of democracy in the country with the abolition of the 104-year-old autocratic Rana rule, has spent many years in jail for his struggle for democracy in the country. The Oli family later migrated to Ranamani-6 in Jhapa from where he started his active political career. In the recent election to the federal parliament, he was elected from the Jhapa electoral constituency-5.

He was first arrested in 1970 for his active participation in the movement against the party-less Panchayat system. He was arrested and imprisoned and put in the various jails and for 14 consecutive years from 1973 to 1987. He was released from jail in 1987.

Oli, a member of the Jhapa revolt, is taken as a ‘stalwart’ leader having strong beliefs for democracy, durable peace, social harmony and national unity in the Nepali politics.
He had become the party chair through the party’s 9th National Congress held on July 3-8 in 2014. He had defeated the then party chair Jhalanath Khanal in the election to become the party’s parliamentary leader.

In the second Constituent Assembly (CA) election, he was elected from Jhapa-7 and had represented the Jhapa-6 in the House of Representatives formed after the 2048 BS legislative elections and the 2051 midterm election. He was the Minister for Home Affairs in the first communist government in Nepal formed on November 30, 1994. He was elected from the Jhapa-2 and 6 in the 2056 BS general elections and had served as the party’s parliamentary deputy leader. He was the Deputy- Prime Minister; and Minister for Foreign Affairs in the Council of Ministers formed in 2006.

The 65-year-leader holds an honorary Ph.D degree on political science. Currently he lives at Balkot of Anantalingeshwor-2, Bhaktapur with his spouse Radhika Shakya.

He is the patron of the Madan Bhandari Memorial Foundation. RSS

Published Date: Thursday, February 15th, 2018 | 11:26 PM

Your Responses