• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

9 member unity cabinet on Thursday, all disputed issues resolved (UPDATE -3)

Kathmandu: Lead political parties have agreed to dissolve the incumbent Bhattarai led government on Thursday morning and form a nine member unity government cabinet in the leadership of Baburam Bhattarai by Thursday evening.

Maoist, NC, UML, and Madheshi Front will participate in the government informed a highly placed source.

Along with that preliminary reports claimed that that parties have also agreed on mixed forms of governance with a directly elected President and legislative elected executive Prime Minister with more executive powers.

Thirdly the parties have also agreed to restructure the state along 8 provinces informed the source. The understanding will be inked on Thursday.



KATHMANDU: Lead major political parties have reached informal understanding to transform the incumbent government into national unity on Thursday evening by dissolving the cabinet in morning.

According the understanding reached between them, parties have agreed that Bhattarai led national consensus government would promulgate the new constitution and then hand over the leadership to Nepali Congress.

As per the gentleman understanding, Bhattarai will handover his resignation along with the constitution to the President on May 28.

Sources claimed that the parties have also reached understanding on forms of governance which will be inked on Thursday morning.

However parties are reported to have remained inconclusive on the issue of state restructuring.



KATHMANDU: Three major political parties and Madheshi Front has inched closer to make another breakthrough informed leaders on Wednesday after attending the four party meeting in the capital.

Exiting the meeting Nepali Congress General Secretary K P Sitaula claimed that parties have neared understanding on the formation of national consensus government and constitution writing process and informed that the deal would be inked on Thursday.

CPN UML Jhalnath Khanal claimed that the parties are likely to form the national consensus government on Thursday.

Congress General Secretary Krishna Sitaula said that the meeting proceeded in cognizant environment and informed that they were more optimistic. “We have neared consensus,” said Sitaula, adding “written agreement will be made tomorrow (Thursday)”.

The four party meeting has been called for 1pm on Thursday.

Published Date: Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012 | 03:56 AM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All

Having it All Ways: Scott Morrison’s Jerusalem “Compromise” Monday, December 17th, 2018

The pieces were already put in place during the Wentworth federal by-election, a hopeless, needless gambit that reduced the Coalition government’s majority whilst..