• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

Biratnagar beat Lalitpur by three wickets in EPL

KATHMANDU: Biratnagar Warriors defeated Lalitpur Patriots by three wickets in the opening match of ongoing Everest Premier League (EPL) at Kirtipur-based Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground on Saturday.

Put into bat first after winning the toss, the Lalitpur made 104 runs for nine wickets in the allocated 20 overs. While chasing 105 runs target, the Biratnagar achieved it in the 19.4 overs.

Karan KC’s outstanding batting performance took the team closer to a win with 36 runs to his name in not out. His score includes three sixes and one boundary. Before KC’s batting, the Biratnagar scored just 50 runs for six wickets. Aasif Shekh hit 19 runs, while Anil Shekh 19, Anil Kumar Sah 11 and Captain Paras Khadka eight.

The Lalitpur started with relatively weak batting in the beginning as it lost four wickets just for 39 runs. However, the 69 runs partnership between Captain Gynendra Malla and Sunny Patel encouraged the team later. Malla hit 49 runs, and Patel 20. Saurav Tomar took three wickets for the Lalitpur. He conceded 10 runs in four overs. Likewise, Sandip Lamichhane claimed two wickets.

With the Biratnagar’s win, it made two points. The first match under the EPL will be held between Lalitpur Patriots and Chitwan Tigers tomorrow (Sunday). Bhairahawa Gladiators and Pokhara Rhinos will play second match. Another team taking part in the EPL is Kathmandu Kings XI.

Published Date: Saturday, December 8th, 2018 | 11:44 PM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All


2019 Parliamentary election in India is unique ,since it has not been a contest between political parties but a contest between one man and several others who are..

The Real Cost of Trump’s Tariffs Thursday, May 23rd, 2019

Monsanto, Scientific Deception and Cancer Wednesday, May 22nd, 2019

In Defense of Europe Tuesday, May 21st, 2019