• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

Biplab Kumar Deb sworn in as first BJP Chief Minister in Left bastion Tripura

(The New Indian Express): 

AGARTALA: Biplab Kumar Deb was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Tripura on Friday, officially ushering the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in the Left bastion.

Prime Miniter Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah, along with other Union ministers and BJP CMs attended the swearing-in ceremony.

BJP MLA Jishnu Deb Burman also took oath as the northeastern state's Deputy CM.

Former chief minister Manik Sarkar was personally invited by Deb and BJP National General Secretary Ram Madhav for the event.

Yesterday, Union minister Nitin Gadkari announced Deb as the Chief Minister while Jishnu Kumar Deb was named as deputy Chief Minister.

The announcement was made at the state guesthouse in Agartala.

Earlier in the month, the BJP and its ally Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) scripted history in the assembly election by ending the 25-year reign of the Left Front-led by the Communist Party of India (Marxist), with a two-thirds majority in the Tripura legislative assembly elections.

The BJP won 35 of the 59 seats that went to polls in Tripura, ousting the CPI(M) which won only in 17 assembly constituencies.

(With Inputs from PTI)

(This story has not been edited by N24 staff and is The Indian Express auto-generated from a RSS feed.)

Published Date: Friday, March 9th, 2018 | 12:45 PM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All

No-Confidence Survivor: Theresa May and Brexit Thursday, January 17th, 2019

Theresa May’s prime ministership remains one of torment, drawn out, and weakened daily. But does it really matter? If it is true to claim that people deserve the..