• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

Apex court stays promotion of 5 SSPs, questions the reasons behind promotion

Just on the same day when the government conferred the insignia to the recently promoted 5 Deputy Inspectors General (DIG), the apex court has issued an interim order to the government to stay the decision until December 31. The Supreme Court has issued such stay order today in response to a writ petition filed against the decision of the cabinet meeting to promote SSPs to the DIG.
The government had decided to promote Shyam Bahadur Khadka, Nawaraj Silwal, Prakash Aryal, Jaya Bahadur Chand and Bam Bahadur  Bhandari to DIGs from SSPs on December 19 on the basis of working performance.
However, 6 SSPs, who couldn’t make it to the post of DIGs, have moved to the apex court on Sunday challenging the government decision claiming the decision was against the Police Regulation, Interim Constitution and principles of the Supreme Court. SSPs Rabi Pratap Rana, Purna Singh Khadka, Manohar Prasad Rimal, Ram Kumar Khanal, Gyanodraj Baidya and Tara Prasad Lamichhane had filed the writ against the decision of the government.
The writ petition has named the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers, Ministry of Home Affairs and the Police Headquarters as the defendants.
A single bench of Justice Damodar Prasad Sharma today issued the order to this end and also the Court has directed the defendants to be present before the court with the reasons behind promotion.

Published Date: Monday, December 24th, 2012 | 08:38 AM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All

In Defense of the Human Individual Wednesday, December 12th, 2018

While it is now very late in the life cycle of homo sapiens, with extinction now due to consign us to Earth’s fossil record – see ‘Will humans be extinct by..