• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

Anish and Bishwarupa clinch Kantipur half-marathon race

KATHMANDU: Anish Thapa Magar and Bishworupa Budha have clinched the title of the ninth edition of Kantipur Half-marathon organised by Kantipur Publications here today.
Anish completed the 21.1 kilometres distance in 1hour 8 minutes 4 seconds and won the title and cash prize of Rs 50,000 in the male category. He also got a Duet scooter.
Similarly, Bishworupa, who competed in the female category, completed the race in 1 hour 23 minutes and 28 seconds. She also bagged cash prize of Rs 50,000 and a Duet scooter, along with the title.
Durga Budha stood second and Krishna Basnet of Nepal Army came out third in the male category while Santoshi Shrestha of Nepal Army came out second and Bina Desar of Armed Police Force (APF) third in the female race.
Athletes finishing the race in the second position both in male and female category bagged cash prize of Rs 30,000 each while those finishing the race in the third position got Rs 20,000 each.
The half-marathon route was: Thapathali- Maitighar, Naya Baneshwar-Teenkune- Koteshwar-Kaushaltar-Thimi-Sallaghari Chowk and back to Thapathali.
In the wheelchair race (male category), Ram Bahadur Tamang won the title finishing the race in the first position, Prem BK came out second and Mohan Bahadur Basnet third. Similarly, Yam Jhankrimagar took the first position, Rajani Rai the second position and Babita Thapa third position in the wheelchair (female category) race.
Those finishing the race in the first position in both categories bagged Rs 20,000 each, those finishing the race in the second position got Rs 10,000 each and those coming third position Rs 5,000 each.
In the 5-kilometres Corporate and Media male competition, Rajesh Khadka came out first, Ajaya Tamang second and Uttam Shrestha third. Likewise, in the female race under Corporate and Media category, Kajal Bista came out first, Juneli Sunar second and Sunita Gautam third. The winners of Corporate and Media race have won three nights and four days’ visit package to Bangkok. Those coming second have won two nights and three days’ visit package to Pokharaand those coming out third have won air tickets for mountain flight.
National cricket team captain Paras Khadka had inaugurated the race amid a programme at the Kantipur Publication’s Office at Thapathali.

Published Date: Saturday, May 25th, 2019 | 07:59 AM

Your Responses

N24 Exclusive

View All

Can Capitalist Democracy Survive? Saturday, September 21st, 2019

Once again, the developed world is feeling the inherent tension between market capitalism and representative democracy. Each institution provides its own mechanisms for..