• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

ANFA selects squad for AFC Challenge Cup

Kathmandu: The All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) has selected 28-member national football team for upcoming AFC Challenge Cup Qualifiers.

The 28 players include goalkeeper Kiran Chemjong, Ritesh Thapa and Bikesh Kuthu while Rohit Chand, Sagar Thapa, Sandip Rai, Bijaya Dhimal, Jitendra Karki, Rabin Shrestha, Biraj Maharjan and Sabindra Shrestha are selected as defenders. Similarly, Anil Ojha, Bhola Silwal, Bijaya Gurung, Bikram Lama, Jagjeet Shrestha, Nawayug Shrestha, Nirajan Khadka, Rajendra Rawal and Raju Tamang are mid-fielders and forwards include Chetan Ghimire, Deepak Rai, Bishal Rai A, Anil Gurung, Jumanu Rai, Bharat Khawas, Amar Dongol and Santosh Sahukhala. Defender Rohit Chand has returned to the national team from Indonesian club PSPS Pekanbaru.

ANFA has selected 31 players in its first round selection. According to ANFA Saroj Dahal, Ganesh Khadka and Sulav Maskey have been slashed from the team. Of the 28 players five more players will be further reduced in the last round.

Nepal is in the Group D and the matches will be played in the Dasharath Stadium, Kathmandu on March 2-6. Nepal will play Norther Mariana Island on March 2 and Bangladesh on March 4 before wrapping up their Qualifier with a match against Palestine two days later.


Published Date: Monday, February 11th, 2013 | 09:43 AM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All

The Asia-Pacific Summit 2018 and Civic Dissent in Nepal Tuesday, December 11th, 2018

The recently concluded Asia-Pacific Summit 2018 held in Kathmandu not only raised eyebrows among Nepalis, but also invited varied concerns and opinions from the..