• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

61 interested for Chair and members of transitional justice commissions

KATHMANDU: Total 61 aspirants, including old and new have submitted their applications for the office-bearers of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) and the Commission of Investigation on Enforced Disappeared Persons (CIEDP).
The recommendation committee published the names of 61 aspirants including the new and old vying for the post of office-bearers and members.
The recommendation committee meeting held on Sunday disclosed the names of aspirants for chairperson and other members of the transitional justice commissions, shared committee member Sharmila Karki.
Kamal Narayan Das and Madhu Prasad Regmi are aspiring to become the chair of TRC while Yuwaraj Subedi is aspiring to become the char of both the commissions.
Likewise, 10 candidates are interested to the post of chairperson and members of both the commissions. Among them are Salahuddin Akhtar Siddiki, Durga Bandu Pokharel, Duman Singh Thapa Chhetri, Rewanta Bahadur Kunwar, Ali Akawar Mikrani, Tara Bahadur Neupane, Hopi Chandra Bhattarai, Sita Prasad Pokharel, Govidna Gautam and Arbind Kumar Singh.
The committee has recommended the names of seven persons. Five among them are former office-bearers. The recommended names for the CIEDP are former chair Lokandra Mallik, member Aita Bahadur Gurung and Nar Kumari Gurung.
The committ6ee has recommended former office-bearer Manchala Jha and Shreekrishna Subedi to the TRC. Likewise, Ganesh Dutta Bhatt has been recommended as the new candidate to become the chair of TRC while Dr Gangadhar Adhikari is recommended as a new member of the commission.
The Conflict Survivors National Society has recommended former TRC member Dr Madhavi Bhatta Parajuli, Nepal Retired Teachers’ Society has recommended Chudamani Sharma, Conflict Survivors Committee has recommended Laxmi Pokharel and Human Rights Organization of Nepal has recommended Bijul Kumar Biswokarma as the chair or member of the TRC.
The committee has given five days to register complaints against the candidates recommended for chair and members of the commissions.
It may be noted that the government had formed a recommendation committee headed by former Chief Justice Om Prakash Mishra to pick office-bearers for both the commissions.
In the absence of office-bearers at the commissions, tasks related to transitional justice is lagging behind. The conflict survivors however are not optimistic of getting justice from the old office bearers.

Published Date: Sunday, November 17th, 2019 | 09:43 PM

Your Responses

N24 Exclusive

View All

How to Revive the WTO Wednesday, December 11th, 2019

December 11, 2019, is the 18th anniversary of China’s accession to the World Trade Organization. It also marks the start of an era in which the WTO no longer has a..

The Rape of India’s Soul Tuesday, December 10th, 2019

Is Growth Passé? Monday, December 9th, 2019