• ZenTravels-BRTNepal
  • sbgl
  • sahara
  • ace-advertise

NC submits PR namelist to EC

Bhishma Raj Ojha, KATHMANDU: Nepali Congress (NC) has submitted the namelist of lawmakers under the proportional representation (PR) system of the House of Representatives to the Election Commission (EC).
Earlier today, a meeting of the NC central work execution committee decided the name list of the party leaders to represent in the House of Representative under the PR system, secretary of the NC central office Keshav Rijal said.
Bal Krishna Khand, Dilendra Prasad Badu, Kishor Singh Rathor, Satya Narayan Khanal, Surya Bahadur KC and Mohan Pandey have been selected under the men’s quota of Khas-Arya.
Likewise, Sujata Koirala, Pushpa Bhusal, Dr Dila Sangraula, Mina Pandey, Uma Regmi and Dipshikha Sharma have been picked as the lawmakers under the women’s quota of Khas-Arya.
Similarly, Bahadur Singh Lama, Karma Ghale, Umesh Shrestha, Lal Kaji Gurung, Jip Tshring Lama and Dibya Mani Rajbhandari were selected from the men’s quota of Adibasi, Janajati groups, Rijal said.
Under the women’s quota of Adibasi, Janajati groups, Gyan Kumari Chhantyal, Pramila Rai, Mahendra Kumari Limbu, Hira Gurung and Mina Subba were picked from the NC.
Binod Chaudhary, Smritinarayan Chaudhary and Nagendra Kumar Raya under men’s quota and Sita Devi Yadav, Chitra Lekha Yadav and Minakshi Jha under women’s quota of Madhesi community were selected to represent the NC in the House of Representatives from the PR system.
Furthermore, Man Bahadur Bishwakarma, Min Bishwakarma and Prakash Rasaily were chosen as the Dalit males while Sujata Pariyar, Laxmi Pariyar and Bimala Nepali under the women’s category of Dalit.
Rijal said that Padma Narayan Chaudhary would represent the men’s category of Tharu community while Parbati DC Chaudhary and Namita Kumar Chaudhary as the women from the same community.
Likewise, Athar Kamal Musalman and Sarbatara Khanam were selected from the Muslim community as the man and woman, respectively.
No women candidate of the NC won the polls in the first-past-the-post electoral system in the election to the House of Representatives held on November 26 and December 7, 2017. As per the constitutional provision, representation of women is a must in one third of the total seats. RSS

Published Date: Monday, February 12th, 2018 | 11:07 PM

Your Responses


N24 Exclusive

View All

The Candidate Rides Again: The Bernie Sanders Re-Run Friday, February 22nd, 2019

He could not stay away, and few could blame him. Such political tendencies are nerves, conditions, diseases: eventually, we have to succumb to them. Bernie Sanders has..